Parkland Shooting: Honoring the Victims

Two weeks have passed since the horrific Parkland School Shooting which took a total of 17 victims. Among the victims were three junior  JROTC (Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps) students, including Cadet Peter Wang, Alaina Petty, and Martin Duque. All three who were killed in the mass shooting on Valentines Day were honored with the Heroism Medal, which is awarded to JROTC Cadets “who perform an act of heroism exemplifying praiseworthy fortitude and courage.”  Here are the names of the remaining 14 victims, Alyssa Alhadeff a 14-year-old soccer player for the Parkland Travel Soccer Team. Geography teacher Scott Beigel (35) was shot and killed as he tried to rush students back into his classroom saving student, Kelsey Friends life. Nicholas Dworet , 17-year-old senior who was recruited for the University Of Indianapolis’s swim team and would have been an incoming freshman in the fall. Assistant football coach Aaron Feis (37) was shot when he threw himself in front of students to protect them from oncoming bullets, he died later that evening after he was rushed into surgery. Jaime Guttenburg (14),  Luke Hoyer (15), Cara Loughran (14), Gina Montalto (14), Joaquin Oliver (17) who became a naturalized citizen in January 2017. Meadow Pallack, 18-years-old was accepted to Lynn University in Boca Raton, Both Pallack and Helena Ramsay (17)  would have attended college in the following year. Alex Schachter (14) participated in the schools marching band and orchestra playing the baritone as well as the trombone. Lastly, Carmen Schentrup who was 16-years-old was a National Merit Scholar semifinalist she was mourned in the community and on social media. May the 17 victims of the Majory Stoneman Douglas High School shooting rest in peace.